Joey W Hill!

There, did I get your attention?

Come see me tonight at her UNRESTRAINED Facebook party. I’ll be revealing the rover for my super-kinky Christmas short story Santa Claus is COMING! and giving away a copy of YOUR CHOICE from my backlist, and a shiny new copy of Santa, hot off the presses on December 15th!

JWH Unrestrained Release Party & GIVEAWAYS!!!

joeys partyjoeys party

https://www.facebook.com/events/256090901208984/262305053920902/?notif_t=plan_mall_activity

32 Comments

  1. My favorite holiday tradition is play poker. My whole family (like 35 crazy people in one house) gets together on Christmas Eve for poker. Super entertaining.

    • I’m jealous. I don’t have a brain for playing cards. No matter how hard I try, no matter how much my co-players help, I just totally suck at it! That sounds like a total riot – like I said, JEALOUS!

  2. The best holiday I remember would be the first Christmases when my daughters were old enough to fully get the Santa experience. To see the pure joy and surprise on their faces, was totally worth staying up late at night to make it all happen!

    • My Goddaughter lived with us during those first years when it really started to click about Santa. I can still hear her squeals of joy – and it still makes me smile all the way down to my heart! (My “baby” will be 20 on January 6th… Sigh…)

  3. My favorite Holiday story would be 20 years ago when my oldest was born on December 15th. That was my first Christmas as a mother.

    • Wow. Not like anyone is EVER gonna top that gift! Happy Birthday, meingee’s oldest!

  4. My favorite holiday tradition/memory was making fudge and divinity with my grandfather, I should’ve written the recipes down and watched closer, mine just doesn’t taste the same!

    • I made my oldest sister type out all the cookie/candy/fudge recipes from my childhood (she’s 17 years older, so I was a little thing when we made them together), so that I could pass em on to my Goddaughter… And I’m so glad I did. Although, my chocolate caramels just don’t taste the same…even with her recipe… (And, being a kid who grew up without grandparents, how COOL that you did that with Grandpa!)

  5. This is two for one. One of our Christmas traditions is to put on A Christmas Story as soon as TBS starts the 24 hour marathon. We watch it several times and quote lines from it for several days leading up to it and after it’s over. It’s our favorite Christmas movie!

    “You’ll shoot your eye out!” 🙂

    • Believe it or not, I didn’t see A Christmas Story until about four years ago. That is tragic. Seriously. All those years I missed out on the best one liners ever written!

  6. One of my favorite holiday recipes, because these cookies have been around for over 900 years. (They are delicious as well!)
    These biscuits were first made over 900 years ago by the Christian saint, Hildegard of Bingen. She said that these spice biscuits should be taken at regular intervals to increase joy and positivity!
    ngredients

    3/4 cup butter or margarine (1 1/2 sticks)
    1 cup brown sugar
    1 egg
    1 tsp baking powder
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 1/2 cups flour
    1 tsp ground cinnamon
    1 tsp ground nutmeg
    1/2 tsp ground cloves
    Directions
    Let butter soften and then cream it with the brown sugar. Beat in the egg. Sift the dry ingredients. Add half the dry ingredients and mix. Add the other half and mix thoroughly. Dough may be chilled to make it workable. Heat oven to 350°. Form walnut sized balls of dough, place on greased and floured cookie sheet and press flat. Bake 12-15 minutes (till edges of are golden brown.)

    Cool for 5 minutes, remove from cookie sheet and finish cooling on racks.

  7. Most consistent tradition is I wind up wrapping all the gifts on Christmas Eve. I usually wind up not getting to bed til 2 or 3 in the morning and then still beating everyone else awake. Now that the kids are grown and not always here for the holiday, even that tradition has started to fade. Heck, this year I am giving my oldest a GC so she can buy ebooks to feed her new found liking of f/f romance. and last year she got a car(signed over one of my two cars to her). Neither of those get wrapped. Only other tradition that has stood the test of time is what food we serve on Christmas day. We have a couple of special foods and a beverage that only get made on (or near)the holiday.

    • Just the thought of doing all my wrapping on Christmas Eve makes me tired! I do, however, think you need to put a big gaudy bow on the car. Just cuz you can!

  8. My favorite holiday traditions is:

    My mother had to work almost every Christmas (nurse) so we would open our presents Christmas Eve so she could enjoy us unwrapping them. Santa would bring us our stockings the next day, and since we did not have a fireplace he hid them somewhere in the house and we would have to find them. Rule a small part of stocking had to be easily seen. Was always our favorite part so the Easter bunny started hiding our Easter baskets too. I still follow the same tradition with my children (15 & 19 this year), but it is a lot harder for Santa to find good hiding place anymore.

    • I love that you still do this with your kids. One of the hardest things I’m facing with my mom’s Alzheimer’s is that many of our traditions (there’s a special box I always get my “special” present in, there’s a tradition of gifts between Christmas and my birthday on the 29th) are fading along with her memory. How amazing for you and for your kids that they’ll have these memories and, hopefully, will pass them along to their own kids… ❤

  9. One of my favorite holiday recipes for those cold days or nights. For work pot lucks I cut down the size and make it it in a crock pot (sadly, w/o the alcohol)

    CHRISTMAS WASSAIL
    1 gal. apple cider
    1 qt. orange juice (pure)
    1 c. lemon juice
    1 qt. pineapple juice
    1 bottle rum (I like to use spiced rum) – your choice what size 😉
    24 whole cloves
    4 sticks cinnamon
    1 c. sugar
    Mix all ingredients and simmer (very low heat) for 1 to 2 hours. Serve warm. Yield: 2 gallons.
    Leftover wassail may be stored in refrigerator and warmed in microwave for later use.

  10. HEALTHY HEART FUDGE

    2 tablespoons lowfat Butter
    2/3 Cup evaporated skim milk
    2½ cups Sugar
    12 ounce package semi-sweet chocolate chips
    2½ ounce baby food prunes
    7 ounce jar marshmallow cream
    ½ cup chopped walnuts
    1 teaspoon vanilla

    Line a 13 x 9 inch pan with waxed paper and set aside. In a large saucepan, melt Butter. Stir in milk and sugar and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Remove pan from heat and gradually stir in chocolate chips Add prunes, marshmallow cream, walnuts and vanilla. Pour into pan and chill. Cut into 48 pieces when firm. Yields 48 pieces
    105 calories per piece with nuts 3Grams fat without nuts 2.5 per piece

    YORK PEPPERMINT BARS

    3/4 cup warm mashed potatoes (without milk & butter)
    2 teaspoons butter
    1 teaspoon peppermint extract
    1 package (2 pounds) confectioners sugar
    1 tablespoon shortening
    2 cups (12 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips

    1. Beat potatoes, butter and extract together.
    2. Mix in sugar
    3. Press into foil-lined 13x4x2-inch pan
    4. Melt chocolate and shortening, pour onto pan mixture.
    5. Cover and refrigerate.

  11. I am posting links to my favorite recipes for the holidays.
    We add coconut to the outside of this one: http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/859/Church-Window-Candy105413.shtml

    We use a whole bag of pretzels with the crackers, 1 cup of oil, 2-3 tblsp of dill weed and 1 tsp of garlic powder. Bake in a roasting pan for an hour, stirring every fifteen minutes: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/hidden-valley-oyster-crackers/

    and this one: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Hard-Candy/Detail.aspx?prop24=RD_RelatedRecipes

    Tradition is just spending time together as a family.

    So nice to find you!!

    • Oh! Recipes! I am a total recipe whore lately! Do you follow Heidi Cullinan’s blog? She posts some killer recipes, too!

  12. LOL! Great to see your blog, VJ! Not too many holiday traditions, but there is a small group of friends with whom we get together at least annually–we’ve tried to take a group photo just about every year, and it’s been very fun to see how much we’ve changed (or not ;)) and how our families have changed. When we started, I think one couple had a baby. Now we average 3 kids per family, and even the youngest ones are school age… it’s kkkkkeeeerraaaazzzzy! 😀 And we need a wider lens! Thanks for the holiday fun!

    • You need to totally make a slide show of that to something like “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer”! lol

  13. Christmas Eve watching Scooge with my husband in cuddled in front of the fireplace and drinking champagne.

  14. We used to have a tradition of watching It’s a Wonderful Life. My favorite Christmas movie

    • I hadn’t watched it in YEARS, until my nephew sort of dared me to watch it on Thanksgiving. Yeah. I remember now why it’s a classic!

  15. I have two favorite Holiday traditions. The first is that we bake a birthday cake for Jesus on Christmas Eve and we all help in decorating it. We then throw a “Birthday Party” on Christmas Day and eat Cake for breakfast, followed by gift opening, and then the real breakfast. The second tradition is that we either make or buy a new tree ornament every year, as a celebration of our family, one that highlights a special time during that year. We take a sharpie marker and write on the back or bottom of the ornament the date and what memory or even the ornament symbolizes. This is a new tradition we started when my now Fiance’ proposed to me and my children and I began our new life with him.

    • When I was little, my sister used to have me over every year the week before Christmas and we’d make chocolate caramels. The BEST tradition ever, cuz it involves chocolate. We also used to make either salt/dough ornaments, or eggshell ornaments (you know, when you blow the yolk, etc, out and then paint them and make them into some sort of artwork. Those ornaments, even thirty years later, can tear me up!

  16. Our holiday tradition is pretty simple! Since our family is now spread across the country we still do something that we can do together from our respective homes that we have done for years now. We call each other and all watch A Christmas Story that runs for 24 hours straight on TBS! Go Ralphie!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

