Things I learned in New Orleans, Part 1

So, last week I knocked something off my bucket list – I spent four days in New Orleans. It is at once the most beautiful and ugliest place I’ve ever been. The phrase that kept coming to mind was “genteel decay” – so many remnants of grace and beauty, so corrupted by time and the elements.

I was there, of course, for the first annual GayRomLit Retreat. And it *was* a treat! I got to go stalker-fangirl on Marie Sexton, Heidi Cullinan, and ZA Maxfield (one of my primary reasons for going!), I got to spend time with the totally awesome, funny, fantastic TA Chase, Devon Rhodes, Amber Kell (and her Lackey, Mike), and I got to room with Stephani Hecht (one of my favorite people ever) and her sister Jackie (arguably the most popular person at GRL). I could gush FOREVER!

I won’t subject you to my excessive gushing, though. At least not at this point. What I will do is give you (in three parts) the top ten things I learned in New Orleans:

 

10. Most native New Orleanians are of Italian descent, not French, and most don’t have that kick-ass accent.

9. The town actually WASN’T built below sea level.

8. There’s no such thing as a “size small” meal anywhere to be found. (Seriously, those po’ boy sammiches? Big as my head. No, big as Ethan’s head – I’m mini-sized.)

 

2 Comments

  1. HAAA!!!! You crack me up!! I lovelovelove New Orleans! Mother’s Restaurant has one of the best bread puddings I’ve ever eaten … in. my. life. Yummm!!

    So glad you had a great time.

  2. Two words – Lost Bread! Creme Brule infused French Toast. Could’ve eaten it breakfast, lunch and dinner!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

