One of my favorite “things”… Author Lynn Flewelling

I grew up reading fantasy – everything from humorous stuff like Piers Anthony’s Xanth series to the drama of Donaldson’s Dark Mirror duo. That love of fantasy followed me into adulthood. Of course with rapidly exploding responsibilities and commitments and even more rapidly dwindling funds, I’ve been forced to become increasingly selective when I look at new authors. So, when I found Lynn Flewelling, I started slow, just bought book one –

There are three books in the initial series – Luck in the Shadows, Stalking Darkness, and Traitor’s Moon. Each one is better than the one before it. Then, Flewelling brought joy to the universe by adding two more chapters to Alec and Seregil’s story with The Shadows Return and The White Road.

(Notice the HUGE improvement in cover art – yum!) The Night Runner series is fantasy at its best. Alec and Seregil are a complex and multi-faceted couple – their relationship develops so naturally and organically… it’s just beautiful. And the layers! When you have a long-lived race like Seregil’s, layers sorta develop whether you want ’em to or not, and Flewelling does an elegant job of it.

Flewelling also went back and did a “prequel” trilogy, which I have, and is on my summer TBR pile.

So, from one avid reader to another (hopefully many others), I’m giving you the gift of Lynn Flewelling. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

